Overcast · 37°

Conservation Board

Board meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

In 1955 the Iowa State Legislature passed a law enabling each county to establish a department to create recreation opportunities for the residents of Iowa. The Cedar County Conservation Board (CCCB) was established by a vote of the county residents in June of 1960. The board consists of five county residents appointed by the County Supervisors. The purpose of the CCCB is to acquire, develop, maintain, and make available to the public parks, playgrounds, wildlife refuges, boat accesses, wildlife management areas, and other conservation areas for public use.

We encourage the orderly development and conservation of natural resources, cultivate good citizenship by providing adequate programs and public recreation. The CCCB owns and manages numerous public areas totaling nearly 1,000 acres. We work with organizations, schools, and any interested group to help instill a "conservation ethic" in Cedar County.

Current Board Members

Jean Driscoll
Term Ends: 12/31/25
Term Length: 5 Years
Dick Maske
Term Ends: 12/31/23
Term Length: 5 Years
Rick Rouse
Term Ends: 12/31/26
Term Length: 5 Years
Leon Steinhagen
Term Ends: 12/31/22
Term Length: 5 Years
Teresa Wendt
Term Ends: 12/31/24
Term Length: 5 Years
Mike Dauber, Executive Director