Official Website for Cedar County, Iowa

Community Links in Cedar County, Iowa

Community Links in Cedar County, Iowa

Our Communities

  • As of the census of 2000, there were 18,187 people, 7,147 households, and 5,138 families residing in the county
  • The population density was 31 people per square mile (12/km²). 
  • There were 7,570 housing units at an average density of 13 per square mile (5/km²).

The racial makeup of the county was 98.47% White, 0.19% Black or African American, 0.19% Native American, 0.30% Asian, 0.03% Pacific Islander, 0.26% from other races, and 0.57% from two or more races. 0.94% of the population were Hispanic or Latino of any race.


Cedar County is divided into seventeen townships:

  • Cass, Center, Dayton, Fairfield, Farmington, Fremont, Gower, Inland, Iowa, Linn, Massillon, Pioneer, Red Oak, Rochester, Springdale, Springfield, and Sugar Creek
Churches and Cemeteries
Golf Courses
Museums in Cedar County